top of page

Abigail and Xavier.

Chapter 3: False Revelation. I couldn't sleep the entire night I left Abby at the hospital. I stared at the imprint of her face on my ceiling all night, wishing I could touch her face but knowing she wasn't really there with me. First thing the next morning, I rushed to see her. My mum had packed a gift basket for her full of muffins and fruits. Abby loves muffins. But what if she could not remember that she did love muffins? My mum would be crushed. But I'd be crushed even more if she didn't remember me today. I passed a flower vendor just outside the hospital and got her a bouquet of fresh lilies. I was such a nervous mess, I bumped into an old lady in a wheelchair and caused such a commotion as I apologised profusely. As I reached Abby's room, I could barely speak. My heart was in my throat. My palms were sweaty and I dropped Abby's gift basket as I knocked on her door. "I hope she's asleep," I thought to myself. "Come in," came her voice. I walked in and found her perched at the windowsill, looking outside. She turned at my appearance at the door and we both just stared at each other. She broke the ice, as she always does. "Hey there." "Hi. I... I'm glad to see you up and about. How are you feeling today?" I wanted to kick myself. Why was my voice so shaky? Abby sensed the nervous undercurrent of my voice and she came closer to me. "Not completely myself but the doctor says I'll be out by next week. Are those for me?" She pointed at the flowers and gift basket. I managed a nod and got closer to where she was. She took the gifts, smelled the flowers and made a familiar expression that made me remember she didn't really like flowers, and unwrapped the basket. The way her face lit up when she saw the muffins, I'd give an arm and a leg to see that again. "I love muffins! Or at least I think I do." She managed a giggle and bit into the muffin. A look of familiarity came into her face. "I know these muffins." "Yeah, you love them. They're from my mum's bakery. You always place an order for at least a dozen every week." "Yeah, that sounds like me." We both laughed and I felt a bit relieved. I suddenly realised that I missed her and she was so important to me. I couldn't keep lying to her. I decided that I would tell her the truth about what happened, if she asked me about it. "So where is your family?" I asked. "Well mum went home with Sophie and Izzy. Dad was here all night then he left in the morning because he had to go work. He actually didn't want to go but I convinced him to go, that I'd be alright. And my brothers are probably asleep somewhere in the waiting room. They didn't even go home to change clothes. " "I always love how you guys are so close," I said. "But we also fight a lot. That's what happens when you're too close. And what about your family?" She asked guiltily. I wanted to tell her that she need not feel guilty about not remembering my family. That it was actually all my fault. "Well it's just my folks and I. You've met them a couple of times." "Um, Xavier?" "Yes?" "I know that you must feel really hurt and awkward around me now that I don't remember you, but could you please tell me something?" "This is it," I thought. This is the moment I've been dreading since she opened her eyes. "Anything Abby," I said. "What are we to each other? Like am I your girlfriend? Because if I am then I'll feel worse than how I'm feeling right now, I mean you shouldn't forget your-" "Abby, it's okay. You weren't, aren't my girlfriend. We are just really close friends." "Are we best friends?" "Yeah, you could say that we are." "Oh. Okay." She was in deep thought again and I could see that she was straining to get the details from her confused brain. The truth of the matter was, we so close to the point that we liked each other. But I never told her that I liked her more than a friend. Even when she told me that she did. I was afraid that it would never work out for us and I treated her like she meant nothing to me. How could I tell her that? "Xavier? What really happened on the night of the accident?" She finally asked. How could I tell her? "Abby, I don't know how to tell you. I don't want to hurt you, that's the last thing I want to do. And I could never lie to you. You and I don't keep secrets from each other." "Please just tell me, I need to know. This accident is a part of my life and I wish to know about it. Please." I stood up and walked over to the window. Mastering courage. Then I turned back to her and found her eagerly waiting. I had no choice but to tell her. She needed to hear it from me, lest she regained her memory and she hated me forever. " Abby, you and I have been friends for a year and a half perhaps. I mean we've known each other for ages but we weren't actually friends, until we went on that school trip to Uganda last year, do you remember that?" She shook her head. "Okay. That's not important. During the trip we started talking and we found that we had so much in common. After that, we've kinda been inseparable. Over at each others houses every other day, and we became closer than ever. We were each others go to for everything. And then one time, we were at a friend's party and we were a bit wasted. And.... Well, um this guy was hitting on you and I knew he was bad news and I tried to tell you but you wouldn't listen and you wanted to leave the party with him but he was drunk too and he wanted to drive. So I got into the car with you guys because I couldn't let you go with him and that's how we crashed. You were the only one who got injured." She looked at me with even more confusion than before. I hated myself even more. I hadn't told her the most important truth about what had happened but I couldn't tell her. It would absolutely break her heart and I wouldn't do it. "Abby, are you alright?" "Yes. I am. I think I just need to lay down for a moment and process everything." "Okay, I'll leave you to rest. I'll be in the waiting room if you need me." "Thanks for telling me the truth Xavier." "Um, yeah. Rest well." I hadn't felt that kind of wretched shame ever before. I didn't know who I was anymore. I had lied to my closest friend in the entire world. I couldn't stand myself anymore. After an hour or so, I went back to her room to see if she had woken up. I found her brother Jerome at the door. "Is Abby awake? Can I see her?" "She has a bad migraine and won't be seeing anyone else today. You should go home Xavier." "Um, okay. Could you tell her I'll be back tomorrow to see her?" "I wouldn't count on it," he said and walked away. Had something happened? Why had he said that? Was my jig up? I went home with so many questions unanswered. But I was determined to return the next day and talk to Abby, no matter how angry she was at me. I was prepared to face the consequences of my actions. Whatever they would be.  

So guys, that's today's story. Are you as confused as I am? Well tune in next week to see what happens next. 

In the mean time, let me know what you think of the story so far. And let's connect on the socials :

Email- selinateyie@gmail.com 

Twitter - Here.

Facebook - Here.

Facebook page - Here.

Instagram - Here. 

bottom of page